Spring Concert - Stabat Mater: Rescheduled

 AntonínDvořák's Stabat Mater: 19th September 2020

Having had to postpone this concert from March 2020, we are pleased to announce that we have been able to reschedule it for Saturday 19th September 2020 with the same group of performers and at the same venue.

This concert, with full orchestra, features O Radiant Dawn by James MacMillan, Cantus in Memoriam Benjamin Britten by Arvo Pärt, with the main work being Stabat Mater, by Antonín Dvořák.   Soloists in Stabat Mater are Jennifer Thomas (soprano), Stephanie Franklin (alto), Edward Rimmer (tenor) and Samuel Lom (bass).

Dvořák started the composition of Stabat Mater in 1875, six months after the death of his new-born baby, Josefa. The score was completed in November, 1877, by which time his other two children had also died. The first performance took place in Prague in December, 1880 and was followed by concerts in Budapest and London's Royal Albert Hall. That performance is regarded as establishing the composer's international breakthrough, which was then enhanced through his ninth symphony (New World Symphony) and Slavonic Dances.

Anyone wishing to familiarise themselves with this work may wish to buy or download one of the many excellent recordings that are available.  Alternatively, by visiting youtube.com you can view and listen to recordings by Mariss Jansons (Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra) or Jakub Hrůa (Czech Philharmonic).








Concert Details

19th September 2020


Spring Concert - Stabat Mater: Rescheduled Winter Concert - Baroque Masterpieces

Other Concerts